Who Is Eligible For An FHA Loan? – Prequalify For A Home Loan

The Federal Housing Administration provides private loans to extend the ownership to more Americans. Although the income and down payment requirements for how to get an FHA loan are low, a borrower still needs to qualify based on credit and financial requirements.


There are five main types of loans: how to get an FHA loan first real estate loans, fixer loans, help for the elderly, energy efficiency loans and manufactured real estate loans. There are a variety of other programs, however, such as the Next Good Neighbor Door Sale Program for Teachers, Fire Fighters and Public Service Agents. Look in the programs on the HUD website for more information.


The purpose of FHA loans is to help homebuyers who are good candidates for mortgages to overcome small challenges. For example, a first-time homebuyer can have a high income and a good credit, but miss a down payment, and how to get an FHA loan can help with his low down payment program. The purpose of the program is not to help those who are not qualified for home ownership; it is designed to make the property more accessible for responsible borrowers.


The FHA defines a responsible borrower as someone who:

A history of stable employment

Has a stable income, preferably increasing in the last 24 months

Is free of any bankruptcy filing, Chapter 7 or 13, in the last two years

Has not been foreclosed for three years

Has a globally high balance sheet of loan repayments, including a lack of tranche defaults and revolving debt.

What is the FHA loan limit?

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) promotes home ownership by supporting home mortgages for people with modest incomes who may not meet the traditional criteria of a home loan. But the FHA will save loans only at a certain amount.


A federal formula defines the maximum size of a loan that the FHA can save. In 2010, the general limit for a single-family home was $ 271,050. However, the limits are higher in larger cities and other areas of “high cost”. For example, the limit in Denver in 2010 was $ 406,250; in San Diego it was $ 697,500. No loan for a single-family home, regardless of the area, could be larger than $ 729,750.


FHA loan support comes in the form of mortgage insurance. It guarantees lenders that if a borrower with a default FHA mortgage approved, the FHA will compensate the lender.


Standards for an FHA loan are more flexible than for conventional home loans. You do not need as large a down payment, for example, and debt payments can make a larger percentage of your income. However, you must pay a monthly premium for FHA insurance.

Other types

Two, three and four unit properties are also eligible for FHA-backed loans. Limits on these properties are usually in proportion to the limits for a single-family homes. In 2010, the general limit for a property of four units was $ 521,250. In high-cost areas, it has capped at $ 1,403,400.

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) provides a number of loan programs for new and experienced homebuyers. While the FHA itself does not give out mortgages, it does provide insurance for these loans, which can make it easier for homebuyers to buy. When completing your how to get an FHA loan loan application, consider these reasons why a loan might be denied if you can improve your chances of home purchase success.

Purchase Price

FHA loan programs are not designed to help buyers get financing for millions of dollars of dream homes. Instead, the FHA caps the amount of these loans based on average housing costs in a given region. Some applicants who are looking to buy a home that costs more than the maximum acceptable amount authorized by the FHA can find their application is denied. This cost varies considerably between different areas. For example, FHA loans have a cap of $ 729,750 in some parts of California but come out from the top at $ 271,050 in North Dakota. If your home has been denied a loan, check to see if the purchase price exceeds the limit in your area.

Type of request

Some potential buyers may find their FHA app refused because of confusion over various FHA loan programs. The FHA single family home loan serves as the most popular option for the average homeowner, but only applies to non-mobile homes. Homes approved under this loan can only include between one and four structures, and homes that do not meet these requirements may be rejected under this program. The same is true for FHA loans aimed at mobile homes. A house may be refused if it does not fall under the FHA description for a mobile home or manufactured.

Appraisal Value

The FHA also offers a special loan program known as the 203k, which is designed for homeowners looking to buy a “fixer”. Under this program, the applicant must provide information or purchase price, plus a detailed estimate of all costs associated with fixing up the property. The lender then conducts an assessment to determine what the home will be worth after the renovations are completed. If the lender believes that the value of the final home is not equal to or greater than the cost of purchase prices and repair costs, the home may be rejected for an FHA loan.

Problems of associate candidates

A home may be refused for an FHA loan because of problems with the applicant itself, rather than the property. According to the US Department of Housing and Urban Development, applicants must pay 3.5 percent of the purchase price out of pocket and must also be legal residents of the United States. FHA and lenders will also consider the credit history of each candidate to ensure that she can make the payments on the house while keeping up with other financial responsibilities.

Leave a Comment